Meeting Minutes

Contributed by bryan Monday, 18 December 2006 Last Updated Monday, 14 May 2007

Minutes of the ITS Trail Committee December 18, 2006

The meeting was convened at 7:15 PM with Poonam Jain, Bryan Siegfried, Nelson Grman, Larry Leone, and Rus Masinelli present. John Fritsche joined by speaker phone for the first portion of the meeting. Other members, including Bill Napper, Josh Ross, and Phyllis Spurney were absent and excused.

Executive Director Amendment

A motion was made to accept the following wordage as an addendum to the by-laws. This had been discussed at the last meeting, as per the by-laws. This would be added to the by-laws under Article VIII, as a new Section, Section 5.

- [Article VIII, Section 5] Executive Director:

- At the behest of the Board of Directors, an Executive Director may be appointed to handle many management functions for the Board, such as, but not limited to:

- Maintaining Membership List

- Maintaining contact with members, donors, and interested parties

- Coordinating advertising and other informational drives
- Otherwise coordinating tasks as directed by the President and Board of Directors.

- The Executive Director shall report directly to the President

- The term of the Executive Director will be defined by the Board, but will not be greater than one (1) year at a time. At the end of the term, the Executive Director may be reappointed to another term.

- The Executive Director will be an unpaid position, unless these By-Laws are amended.

- Appointment and Dismissal

- Appointment of an Executive Director will require a majority vote of the complete Board of Directors.

If several candidates are considered, one candidate must receive a majority of votes of the entire Board of Directors.
Nominations for Executive Director shall arise from the Board of Directors.

- Reappointing a sitting Executive Director will proceed in the same fashion as initial appointment.

- Dismissal of the Executive Director earlier than expiration of term will require a vote of a majority of the entire Board of Directors.

- The Executive Director may resign at any time.

After the new Section was read verbally, as passed out in written form, a motion to pass was made by Rus Masinelli and seconded by Larry Leone. It subsequently passed unanimously by Rus Masinelli, Larry Leone, Bryan Siegfried, Poonam Jain, and Nelson Grman. John Fritsche was unable to be present for the meeting, but voted in agreement with the amendment by speakerphone.

Right of Entry

Poonam Jain reported that the railroad will require a fee of \$750 as part of the application for a Right of entry", as has been discussed previously. Developing an "evaluation map" may be helpful, and this would entail a detailed list of owners, including the railroad and other private owners of the old TS right-of-way.

Meeting with Senator Demuzio

We will attempt to work out a meeting with Senator Demuzio to present our work so far, and see if Senator Demuzio or her office can help the ITS Trail move ahead. This meeting will likely be held in February.

Executive Director

Nelson Grman nominated Jarid Ott for the new Executive Director, especially in light of all the active assistance he has provided to the Committee. The motion was seconded by Bryan Siegfried and passed unanimously on a voice vote.

The meeting was adjourned by Poonam Jain at 8:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Bryan Siegfried, Secretary